Whole 30 Experience – Days 16 thru 18

Day 16

This morning I only managed to get a 25 minute walk in because I had physio before work. But, 25 minutes is better than nothing.  I followed up my walk with 2 eggs and a homemade pumpkin spice latte (see my healthy recipe in my last post).

During the morning, I snacked here and there on date bites.  And for lunch I finished off my salad with chicken and had a half a cup of cherries.

At 4:30 I had an apple for a little carb snack prior to my gym sesh.

For dinner I had leftover mixed veggies and half a pork chop.  And later in the evening I was still really hungry and had an early morning workout planned for the next morning so I chowed on some salad and plantains.

Day 17

I was up bright and early this morning to get a good workout in at the gym.  It’s going to be a long day as I have to teach boot camp after work and then I’m going on a little hike with a friend.  That being said, I refueled with two eggs and one of my hash browns.  As well as my morning coffee.

This morning and this afternoon I’ve been snacking on and off on coconut date bite things. They’re a good little snack and dates are a perfect pre-workout fuel (even better with coconut).

For lunch I had mixed veggies, half a chicken breast, and leftover soggy salad (try not to be jealous).

Prior to boot camp, I snacked on an apple.  And for dinner, post-boot camp and post- hike, I had Rappie Pie.  This is an Acadian dish and it’s my favorite food in the whole world.  It consists mostly of potatoes, chicken broth, and chicken.  It looks gross but it makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

Rappie

The crust of rappie pie is made from butter, so I couldn’t eat what little crust there was on mine…but I did add some ghee to it.  🙂

Day 18

I wanted to sleep in soooo badly this morning.  I was exhausted and cozy and my cat was sleeping by my head, purring away.  But, I dragged my butt out of bed for an extended early morning walk.  When I got back home I indulged in my coffee and had eggs and prosciutto for breakfast.

Thursdays are my big day at the gym.   I head to the gym right from work and work our for 1.5-2 hours, then I finish my evening off with a Zumba class.  (The last two weeks there has been no classes.)  Therefore, on Thursdays, I normally try to fuel up moreso than on any other day of the week.  So, at 11 am I snacked on a blueberry smoothie I made this morning (blueberries, a few cherries, unsweetened almond milk, water, and a spoonful of ground flax and ground blueberry powder).  It was perfect and I needed the boost.

For lunch I had a salad of mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, mandarin oranges, red onion, cranberries, and almonds.  I also added some tuna in for protein.  I have to say, I wasn’t sure when I dumped the tuna on top of the oranges and cranberries, but it was actually really good.

This afternoon I snacked on apple slices.  It was my pre-workout snack.  I hit the gym right after work and aside from my warm up, I spent most of the two hours lifting.  At about 7:15 I ate a Larabar to keep me going thru Zumba class and to tide me over until I could finally eat dinner.

Because I’m working out for long on Thursdays, I usually fully expect dinner to be a late one and I almost always eat a bit more pre and post-workout.  But this night I wasn’t overly hungry.  I made a medley of mixed zucchini and cherry tomatoes and had a pesto glazed pork medallion as my protein.

Zucchini

Aside from the clump of herbs and pesto that hasn’t been swooshed around yet….doesn’t this look so good?

~FB

Leave a Reply

