Whole 30 Experience – Days 2, 3, and 4

I want to note, as I did in day 1, that I drink a lot of water throughout the day. Usually a few liters while at work and at least a liter at the gym (more if it’s hella hot and humid like it has been).

Day 2

I was up bright and early this morning for an early morning walk (it was still dark out when I got out of bed – urg) and when I got back home I made my regular coffee (same as yesterday) and made two eggs.  I had physio this morning and then headed to work. By the time 9 o’clock rolled around I was starving again.  I’m thinking my metabolism must be hella revved these days from constant exercising and lifting.  So, to satisfy my hunger until lunch time I had some hash brown potatoes (shredded potato, ghee aka clarified butter).  Around 9:30 I started my second coffee which I sipped until almost 11.

For lunch today I had some of the cabbage rolls I made last night.  They were so good.  I also had a tangelo to go with it.

For dinner I had chicken breast (b/s) and grilled mixed vegetables.  In the evening I was feeling snacky (actually, again, I was hungry) so I munched on some plantain chips.

Day 3

This morning I was up at 5 to go to the gym.  I usually go Tuesdays (I don’t teach Tuesdays), but yesterday was so hot and humid (I think the humidex was close to 40) and our gym doesn’t have A/C, just big fans that do not do the work.  So,  went to the gym this morning.  It was 27 degrees inside the gym (23 outside, but still very humid)!  I think I made a good call yesterday in not going…I can’t imagine how hot and gross and suffocating it would have been last night.

So, of course, working out this morning, once I got to work I was extremely hungry.  I had prepped so I had scrambled eggs (2), 2 slices of roast turkey (compliant), and one hash brown.  I normally don’t eat this much at breakfast but this morning was an exception since I put in a good hour and a half at the gym in the morning AND have to teach boot camp in the evening.  I didn’t want to leave myself feeling famished all day.  I also had a coffee,  although this one was a black iced coffee from McDonald’s (hello Dollar Days) with my almond milk.

For lunch today I had some leftover cabbage rolls and a handful of cherries.  I also had a few pieces of organic, raw coconut chewy things.  Don’t worry, they were compliant.

We barely made it through boot camp class in the evening because of the high humidity, but, my group peeps are troopers and we all rocked the workout!  After working out so much today, I could not wait to get home and eat.  But, I was exhausted and didn’t feel like doing too much so, I made another cauliflower pancake, some grilled mushrooms, and a little grilled prosciutto.  For a little dessert while I lounged on my couch watching Big Brother, I had some sliced frozen banana dipped in almond-hazelnut butter.  Um, Yum!!

Day 4

I got up early this morning for my walk and decided to go back to bed for another 40 minutes.  I don’t normally do that – once I’m up, I’m up.  But I was really tired and kinda groggy, and I literally fell right back to sleep.  Obviously, my body needed the extra rest.  I feel a little bad for missing my morning solitude and exercise, but i’m going to walk on my lunch break and also hit the gym after work.

For breakfast I had my regular coffee, two eggs, and a slice of prosciutto. I don’t normally buy prosciutto (or other processed meats – although this is compliant) – but I got a good deal on it and I don’t want to waste it.

For lunch I had the last of the leftover cabbage rolls.  They really were yummy.  I also had a 1/4 cup of blueberries.  Around 4 pm I was starving (I totally did not eat enough for lunch) and since I was heading to the gym a good hour and a half I grabbed a hash brown and rammed it in my face.

For dinner I had some grilled veggies and a piece of chicken breast.  I usually sprinkle my food with some herbs from Epicure, BTW.

If you’re interested, the recipe for the cabbage rolls is as follows:

  • 1/2 to 1 lb ground meat (beef, pork, chicken, turkey – whatever you like)
  • 1 head cabbage* (I literally just pulled off enough leaves to use until the meat mixture was gone)
  • 1½ – 2 cups cauliflower rice
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (check labels to ensure it’s compliant) – or use fresh tomatoes
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 cup of mushrooms, minced (optional)
  • salt, pepper, and any other spices or herbs you want to throw in.  I used a bunch of different ones.
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
Mixed all ingredients (except cabbage and tomatoes) together
Prepare cabbage by washing, drying, and spreading the leaves out individually.
Fill each leaf with about a spoonful of the meat mixture and roll it up like a burrito and place in cooking pan.
Spread the tomatoes (and any extra mushrooms) over the rolls and cook on 350 for about 30 – 45 minutes.  Ensure your meat is cooked thoroughly.
Last night I was feeling munchie aka still hungry so I had a handful of plantains and half a blueberry protein smoothie.  The Whole 30 is iffy on the smoothies.  If you’re looking at a smoothie as a way to have a dessert, then they don’t want you to indulge.  But if it’s a way to get extra foliage inter your diet, then it’s okay.  The protein I used is one I got from my sister-in-law and is completely compliant.
Leave a Reply

