Raise the Bar

Twinkle

The other night I had a new personal training client.  She’d never been in a gym before (other than the previous week when she picked up her key) and wanted me to show her around.  As I was giving her a tutorial on the cardio equipment I asked her what her thoughts were on strength training.  She admitted that she was nervous about it and didn’t want to “bulk up”.

I explained to her the importance of strength training and showed her around the weight room and demonstrated some workouts with the weights and got her going with a small routine to incorporate into her workouts.

The following we day she sent me the following note:  “Thank you for your help.  When you emailed the other day saying you were going to make me look like a rock star, I thought “she’s funny”.  Now, I want to look like a rock star!”

It was so nice of her to send me a message but what made me really happy is that she was excited to start her workout program AND start training with weights.

Try not to be intimidated by a workout.  Go into your exercise program excited and open to new ideas.  Don’t be afraid to raise the bar.

~FB

Leave a Reply

