A League of Our Own

ARMS

I saw this today and thought it was pretty rad.  Okay, honestly, I saw this gal’s arms first and was totally jelly – but when I read the caption I though, yeah, I’m definitely in a league of my own.  In fact, we all are.  Especially when we hit the gym.  There should be no competition at the gym, unless it’s with ourselves.

Coincidentally, I had a gym date last night with a friend.  We totally did our own things but it’s sometimes still nice to make plans to workout just so that we can see each other.  While I was warming up on the treadmill another girl came in.  I’ve seen her there a few times before over the years.  And she’s one of those girls that goes to the gym with her hair down and curled and a full set of make-up on.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’d just come from work AND I had a great hair day yesterday, but as soon as I walk thru those doors the hair goes up in a ponytail and the sweat starts to roll.  I’m not there to impress anyone.

Once I was finished warming up I hit the strength room and loaded my weights onto my buddy Smith.  I was doing my thing.  Curly Locks came in and lifted her free weights.  She did her thing, I did mine, and that was it.  We didn’t pay attention to each other.  When she was done she took her curls and left.

Maybe she didn’t want a hard, sweaty workout.  Maybe she was going  to work, or maybe she was heading to a hot date.  Or, maybe she’s one of those people who drops into the gym on occasion, gets her minimal workout in, and feels good for the next 3 months.  Who knows.  Regardless, it’s her business, and my workout is my business.  There was no competition between us because we are both in our own leagues.  My goal last night was to increase my weight.  I am constantly in competition with myself these days and I’m winning.

(Call Charlie Sheen.  #Winning)

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

