Mind, Body, Mood

Mind, body, mood

I’m sure you already know that exercise is good for your mental health.

Remember what Elle said about exercise and endorphins in Legally Blonde?

It’s true! Exercise releases endorphins – these endorphins interact with the receptors in your brain that reduce your perception of pain, and also trigger a positive feeling in the body, similar to that of morphine. You know that rush we feel during/after a workout or the runner’s high you hear about so often? That is the endorphins at work.

I speak right now from the heart. For a very long time I suffered from severe depression. I was so sad all the time and for no reason. My heart just ached. This went on for years. It ruined relationships. It put stress on my body and on my mind. And a few times it nearly killed me. I spent many, many years on antidepressants; trying this one and that one but never fully getting over the depression.

It wasn’t until I started exercising that my depression lifted. And the more I exercised the better I felt. The sadness went away, my moods were happier, my soul felt free, and my body was so much healthier.

I spent all those years on medications that seemed to hinder more than they helped. But since I began working out regularly 10 years ago my life completely changed – including my mental health.**

**I am in no way at all endorsing one stop taking medications, especially those with depression or other mental health disorders. Please do not take this as that. I’m merely suggesting adding exercise to your current daily dose and see if it can help. Perhaps a regular fitness program can compliment your current program (whatever that may be – medication, counselling, etc.). If you have any questions talk to your doctor or health professional. See if you can get some of those endorphins flowing. I want you to feel good. I want you to feel your best. And I know that for many, your best may include medications (it did for me). But I also want your heart and your soul to feel great, and exercise *may* be the way to help with that.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

