Misery

I’ve been running pretty much non-stop for the last year – and then some.

I’ve been so ecstatic about getting back into my running, and although I’ve had a few set backs with my tarsal tunnel, this past weekend I really feel like I’ve hit a wall.

Last week I could feel my ankles getting a little worn.  I’ve been running so much the last two weeks and I could feel the wear and tear.  Thankfully, I had Thursday night off from Zumba (as you likely know, Thursday is my favorite night of the week.  I hit the gym right from work, run a few miles, get some crazy strength training in, hit the stairs for reps (the last few weeks it’s been a minimum of 2000 steps), and finish my night with Zumba – and I love every minute of it!) and decided to take it semi easy.  I did get some strength training in, but decided to forego the run.

Friday night I didn’t run, I hit the gym and did a workout on the elliptical for a warm up and then killed it in the strength room with my old buddy Mr. Smith (Machine), but by the time I got home I could barely walk.

I’d had my shoes off at work all day and as soon as I got home I had to jump in the tub to soak my ankles.  Then I iced them.  And when my boyfriend got home I got him to rub them.  And that’s how it was all weekend:  soak, ice, rub, repeat.

It literally feels like splinters of bone peeling off the insides of my ankles.  I feel like poor James Caan in Misery with crazy Kathy Bates swinging that sledgehammer.

misery-ankle

*OUCH*

I am so cranky that I’ve been sidetracked by this pain, but there’s nothing I can do about it.  The pain is so intense that I can’t even tell if it’s a flare-up of the tarsal tunnel or if it’s something else.  All I can do for now is rest and keep soaking and icing my ankles – and hope for the best.

I mean, in all honesty, I can (for the most part) still work out – but I can’t overdo it.  I don’t want to exert too much extra weight on my ankles so I will have to modify the strength workouts.  And it’s pretty clear that I will not be running this week (although, the weather people are calling for a major storm tomorrow anyway, so perhaps my {outside} running may not have happened anyway).

I’m hoping for a speedy recovery from this.

~Fit Bitch

2 responses to “Misery

  1. Listen to the pain. Good pain, bad pain. If you’re not sure, play it safe! Honor your body. You wouldn’t treat a car like that (or shouldn’t).xo

Leave a Reply

