Do What You Gotta!

I saw this in my Facebook feed yesterday:

Tread Walking

And although I *sorta* get what the guy who posted it was saying (he’s a trainer and a huge gym rat), I also took a little offence to it.

Everyone has to start somewhere.

If it’s you’re new to the gym then, hell yeah, go for a walk.  You’ll get no dis from me. If you’re sick, injured, recovering from an injury or illness, or are older – then enjoy your treadmill stroll!

We need to get out of the mindset that being at the gym is a person-to-person competition.  (We also kinda need to get out of the mindset of competing with ourselves.)  The main purpose of going to a gym is to get fit and healthy.  If taking a walk on the treadmill is part of your fitness routine, then it’s no one else’s business to comment, judge, or talk smack.

We have all been to the gym for the first time.  We have all had to start somewhere.  There was a time when I stepped onto a treadmill for the first time.  And more than likely, I didn’t start off running.

And remember when I told you about my mom and her bad knees?   (https://nsfitbitch.wordpress.com/2015/05/03/mom-spiration/)  I would throw a damn fit if she even attempted to run on the treadmill.  I would be super supportive ONLY of her walking.

Be proud of any changes you make, any goals you hit, and all accomplishments.   You’re doing great!  #Ownit !

~FB

 

Leave a Reply

