Evolution

I don’t normally do this.  1) Because it’s embarrassing, and 2) Because I don’t want to be *that* person who feels the need to flaunt things.  That being said, do not read me wrong, I am very proud of how far I’ve come in my weight loss journey and healthier lifestyle, and I do not ever want to take away from how darn hard I worked to get where I am.  However, *THAT* being said, I am also disappointed in myself for letting myself get to the point it was 10 years ago.

I’m doing this now because the other day one of my best friends was telling me she felt disappointed with herself because she felt she’d gained weight (although I can visibly see that she has lost weight in the last 6 weeks).  I wanted to encourage her and let her know that I am her cheerleader, and that I have been in the same position.  AND that she does not look as badly as I’m sure she thinks she does.

And so, I brought her a photo of my old self.  The self from 10 years ago – a little bit before she met me.  I showed her a photo – THE PHOTO – that literally changed my life.  The photo that I honest-to-goodness did not recognize myself in.  As in, I actually had no idea who the person in the photo was.

It’s THE PHOTO that made me, within moments, turn my life around.  THE PHOTO that prompted me to get my big butt home and start an exercise program.  THE PHOTO that started a healthier eating plan.

It’s THE PHOTO that likely saved my life.

And now, for the first time, I am sharing it with you (ack!!!):

BIGUN

There you go!!  Not my finest moment.

But I have come a long way.  I continue to work my ass off.  I continue to have goals.  Sometimes I hit them, sometimes I slide really close to them.

I still have a bit of a tummy.

Skinny butt

I still have a bit of arm junk that hates me and just.won’t.go.away.

Wedding Pic

Maybe like my bestie I am still being too hard on myself.  I should be proud of myself.  Because, honestly, if I had not seen that photo I may not have adjusted my lifestyle.  I could have exposed myself to serious health problems or diseases.  In fact, I could be dead.

I wanted to share THAT PHOTO with you because, even tho it is humiliating for me, I wanted to prove to you that I have been there.  I didn’t take some magic bean and suddenly lose a ton (pun!) of weight; I had to work for it.  And the work paid off.

So, if you’re new to fitness, if you want to make a change, if you’re struggling, if you don’t think you can do it, if you think it’s hopeless (it’s not!!):  Hang in there.  Put the effort in and you will see results.  My transition was (thankfully) a short one.  But it does take time.  Stick with it.  You CAN do this.  ♥

AND – to my bestie, if you’re reading this:  I am proud of you.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

