Do it for YOU! (Day 8)

DO IT FOR YOU

Oh my gosh, YESSSS!!

Let me just tell you that when you stop “dieting” and exercising for everyone else (boyfriend, wife, mother) and start making better choices for YOU you will see all the difference in the world.

When you’re ready to make the changes – that’s when you’re doing it for yourself (even if it’s so that you can play with your kids without getting winded, or keeping up with your spouse on a bike ride) – it’s when you decide that you really are worth the work – because you’re ready).

One of my favorite quotes is one that I heard years ago and it resonated with me and stuck with me.  I’ve quoted it often (even here) and truly believe in it:

If you’re not ready to do the work then you’re not ready to lose the weight.

I know it sounds kind of dickish but I do believe it.  I had struggled for many, many years with my weight.  I’d had every eating disorder and disordered eating for most of my life.  I’d always wanted to lose weight for good but was never able to really do so (up and down it would go from fad dieting, binge exercising, etc.).  Then one day I saw a photo and literally and honestly didn’t recognize the girl in it.  I was clueless as to how high my weight was and in that very moment I made the decision that it was time to change.  And this time would be different.

I went home that day, made a commitment to change my life – healthy, habits, and all – and have not looked back.  I decided to really put the work and and have been a work in progress ever since.  And I am so happy.

When you change your life for yourself – your life will change.  ♥

~Fit Bitch

 

Leave a Reply

