I LIKE MY BUTT!

When I was younger my aunt used to always tell me I had a big bum.  I would get really irritated with her because A) I was young  B) I already had self-esteem issues C) She was a big woman and who was she to tell me I had a big butt?

When I was in college I realized “Eff me!  I have a booty!”

I have loved my booty and I have lost my booty (it’s always the first thing to go when I lose weight – the boobs quickly follow).  Since I started running again this last year – like, really running again, like, nearly every day – I have watched my bum disappear a little.  But, for the most part, it’s still there.  And you know what?  I love my butt!

I do!  I love it.  It’s round and it’s grab-worthy (yes, I’m tooting my own horn), and it holds my pants up.  What more could I asked for?

The other night I was changing out of my gym clothes and caught a glimpse of my arse in the mirror.  I took a long, hard gander at it – studying it from different angles.  And I was in awe.  I have mucho respect for my behind.

BODY LOVE

I’ve also realized over the years that A) My aunt loved me and meant no harm  B) Although she was a big woman she had a terribly flat ass!

I’ve fought my body image demons for many years.  I have always fought them and I will continue to fight them.  And in my fight I am going to love myself and appreciate myself and respect myself.  I am going to wrap myself in a big hug whenever I can and be thankful for the legs that carry me, for the butt I sit on, for the arms that reach out and touch.

Hug yourself.  Love yourself.  Appreciate who you are.  Respect your body.

~Fit Bitch

 

 

Leave a Reply

