Boot Camp Fitness

When I advertise for my classes I get a lot of “what is boot camp?” questions.  I didn’t realize that many people are unaware of this type of training (but I suppose, once upon a time I asked “what is boot camp?”) and so I’ve decided to use this forum to explain to you what exactly my boot camp classes are like.

via Yahoo

via Yahoo

The purpose of fitness boot camp – aside from whipping your butt into shape – is to build strength and endurance.  My classes are jam-packed with cardio (cray-zee cardio) and strength.  And because my classes are based on body weight training I don’t require any equipment (save for a yoga mat so you don’t have to be/sit/lay on the ground or floor).

When most people hear the term “boot camp” they instantly think of the military.  New recruits go off to basic training and boot camp and go through some pretty intense training in order to get their bodies in tip-top shape.  Boot camp is pretty hard core – and so are my classes.

..this ain't no princess-in-training camp.

..this ain’t no princess-in-training camp.

As I said above, my classes are a combo of cardio and strength.  I start with a warm up, we work our asses off for the majority of the hour, and I finish with a cool down/stretching.

I am always coming up with new exercises so that the classes don’t get boring – and I also have some old tried and trusted faves.  I will make you squat.  I will make you burpee.  I will definitely make you sweat!

via Yahoo

via Yahoo

Your abs will be sore and you’ll have difficulty getting up those stairs the next few days.  But it will get easier.  No, scratch that!  YOU WILL GET STRONGER.  You will build up your cardio and your endurance.  You will need to take less breaks to catch your breath.  And you’ll be able to push up through the entire interval without having to take a knee.

You’ll leave class with your head held higher (I applaud you just for coming) and you’ll walk with a little swagger.  And so you should.

Via Yahoo

Via Yahoo

Here are a few things to remember when taking my class:

Gear. Come to class prepared, man.  You need sneakers, a mat, and water (and maybe a sweat towel).  You CANNOT do my class without proper footwear.  It’s dangerous and it’s reckless (for you as a participant and for me as a trainer). You need proper footwear in order to prevent injury.  I want your ass to be sore; I don’t want to kill you.
Water.  Hydration is key to good, everyday health.  But it’s really important to stay hydrated during an intense class – or if you’re an extensive sweater.  Boot camps are designed to get your heart rate up and make you break – and keep – a sweat, so replenishing those electrolytes is important.  Even more important when taking class in the summer.  Which just about kills even me.  Blah.
Disclose of any medical information, etc.  Good Lord people! I can’t even stress how important this is.  Please be sure  to disclose any medical or health issues to any fitness professional you’ll be working with.  I have my clients fill out a lengthy health history form as well as a liability waiver.  And I’m well aware that people lie.  But seriously, this is something that could save your life.  I am the first one to tell my clients that I have a heart condition (I mean, really, how often do you hear that your trainer has a heart condition) so please be truthful with me.
Carb up.  Yep.  You heard it.  Carbohydrate is what fuels your body and without it I expect you’ll be laying in a puddle on the floor in a corner.  I tell my clients to eat something carby (an apple, whole grain toast) at least an hour before my class.  (If you eat too close to class time you’re likely to puke).
Throwing up is okay.  Seriously.  You’re not the first.  You won’t be the last.
Boot camp classes are intense.  I’m not gonna lie.  Be prepared to work your butt off and to do things you didn’t think you were capable of.  Your body will hate you, you’ll hate me.  But you’ll be fine.
Don’t insult the instructor.  Don’t be a dick.  I had a dude come to my class recently.  He’d spent some time in the military and during a conversation after class he said to me “It was a good class.  It’s not boot camp though.”  No, it’s not (military) boot camp.  I’m not wielding a rifle and screaming profanities all whilst preparing you for battle.  It’s a fitness class.  He signed up for a fitness class – he got a fitness class.  He was an ass.  And really – if you’re going to participate just to be an ass, please stay home.
Don’t be afraid to dig deeper (or go lighter).  I tell my clients before and during their workouts “your body will tell you what you’re capable of.”  Don’t be afraid to push your limits (or at least try).  And certainly don’t be ashamed to modify if you need to.  Your body is your temple.  Do what’s best for it.
Don’t forget to pay the lady.  Unless you have made arrangements with me – or if I’ve stated otherwise – come to class prepared to pay.  It irks me to no end when people come to my class and don’t pay.  The same ass from above came to my class and said “I don’t have any money for you tonight.”  WTF??  I specifically told this person – as I’ve told everyone – what the cost is and my methods of payment.  This is a grown ass man!!   And it happens way too often.  It’s not fair to me and it’s not fair to the rest of the participants who’ve paid for the classes.  I mean, when you go to the grocery store do you tell the cashier “I’m taking the milk but I don’t have any money for you”???
I happily offer free classes on occasion.  Unfortunately this is not something I can offer constantly as I have rental fees, insurance, education, dues, and travel expenses to cover during the session runs.  To show up for a class AND participate without intention to pay is disrespectful and, as far as I’m concerned, the same as stealing.  Asshat from above made me so angry that I’ve decided that I will no longer be offering people the benefit of the doubt and will be turning people away at the door.  “Sorry you traveled all this way but if you don’t pay you don’t play.”  It may be bad for business, but that’s exactly what it is…a business.  I’m offering you a service.  It’s not free.  Please keep this in mind when you are intending on attending any type of class.  {End rant.}
Have Fun!  Remember, this is a fitness class.  It’s not military basic training.  It’s supposed to be fun. Try it out.  Don’t take yourself too seriously.  Laugh at me.  Laugh at yourself.  As long as you’re working it at the same time.  Exercise shouldn’t feel like a chore.  There is a lot of camaraderie among the participants.  We have fun.  Come with the right attitude and you will too.
~Fit Bitch
November 2015
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.