It’s a Brand New Day (to Train for Your First 5K)

Happy November!!

Halloween was last night and I’m sure many of you ODed on chocolate and candy (and booze) and are feeling the regrets and the grossness today.

October is a big food month around these parts.  It’s my birthday month, as well as my nephew’s, sister-in-law’s, and aunt’s.  It’s also my parents’ anniversary month, Thanksgiving (in Canada), and, of course, Halloween.  So it seems that there’s always tons of food on the go.  I did my best to behave, food-wise, but I did indulge here and there (dam you, Pumpkin Spice lattes!!), and for that reason I’m starting back on my Whole 30 food plan this month.

I know not everyone is able to commit themselves to 30 days of eating whole, natural, unprocessed foods and omitting many every day things (like dairy), but I really enjoy the program and feel so terrific while doing it.  This will be my 4th time on the program since June.

But, again, since not everyone can – or wants to – make this commitment (I still urge you to eliminate as much processed food as possible) I thought another program would catch your fancy.  It’s the Learn to Run Your First 5K.

I never did a training program when I first took up running years ago but many of my friends have joined running groups to learn to run a 5K or 10K and it really seemed to benefit their training.  And it definitely is a commitment.

This Learn to Run program is from PopSugar Fitness and it’s a 6-week training program that incorporates core, strength, and flexibility training into your running workouts.  It’s a great idea and if you’re a newbie to running – and/or to exercising –  this might just be the program for you.

I always feel like November is such a great recovery month – getting over October’s indulgences and gearing up for Christmas and the holidays.  I realize that my American friends celebrate their Thanksgiving in November, but you can still use the month as your training guide – taking your rest day(s) to celebrate with your turkeys.

This is also a 6-week training program so it will bring you right into mid-December so even when you’re doing your Christmas baking or already into the parties your body will be conditioning and burning extra calories while at rest.

So, give this program a go and as always, have fun!

Via PopSugar

Via PopSugar

Leave a Reply

