30 Day Plank Challenge

Did I do this before? I thought maybe I had but looking back at past posts it seems that I didn’t actually post a separate Plank Challenge but plans were also included in the 30 Day Ab Challenge.

I noticed a few of my friends doing a version of the Plank Challenge on Facebook this past month so I figured I might as well get in on it too and share it with you.

Now, I plank all the time.  I do it at the gym, in my classes, when I’m bored.  And I make the girls in my boot camp classes plank all.the.time.  They hate me. 🙂

Planks are one of the best exercises because it works and strengthens so many areas of the body. Think about it – when you’re in proper plank position how many parts of your body are engaged?  Core, back, shoulders, arms, wrists, neck, legs, ankles, butt…everything is working here.

There are two basic planking positions you can choose from for this challenge:

The low plank:

Low Plank - from the elbows

Low Plank – from the elbows

or the high plank:

High Plank - arms extended

High Plank – arms extended

and of course there is a beginner/modified version (*note – you can modify the high or low plank):

Modified Plank - which can be done high or low - from the knees

Modified Plank – which can be done high or low – from the knees

The proper form of either of these planks is to ensure a straight line from head to toe.  Be sure not to strain your neck or let your back sink (or butt raise)…these will only lead to injury, AND if either of these occur then you’re not engaged properly and defeating the purpose.

There is no shame in modifying your plank (or any exercise, for that matter) – whether it’s from the start or you’re halfway thru your daily challenge and need to take a knee a for a second or two or go fully into the modification.  If you’re feeling shaky or weakness or pain that’s your body telling you to smarten up and take it a little easy.  You can’t go beast mode if you’ve got a broken back or wrist.

So, since we’re at the end of January, take the next day or two to “practice” your plank and then for the next 30 days enjoy the challenge.

via source

via source

~Fit Bitch

5 responses to “30 Day Plank Challenge

  1. rachconniff

    Awesome! I love planking.. I just planked today at the gym. I usually incorporate side planks too. Maybe ill try this challenge! I have never done the “high plank” before, maybe I will try that tomorrow. I wonder if it makes any difference which one you do?

    • Hi Rachel! I love planks too and I think they’re super important in my fitness regime. I personally prefer the low plank but I do the high and the low – as well as tons of variations (plank pulses, side planks, rolling side planks, hi-lo planks {where you start in the high plank and go down to the low and then get back up to the high and then go back down to the low, yadda yadda). The high plank will work your shoulders a little more than the low, but the low plank I find engages your back and core just a teensy bit more.

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Plank Challenge Starts TODAY!! | Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

