Race Day!

Tomorrow is Race Day!  I’m super duper excited to be participating in a Zombie Run and I hope to tell you all about it afterward.

ZOMBIES

But here’s my issue….I’m suffering from Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome* and it BITES like a big fat zombie!!  The last few times I’ve gone running (in preparation for this race) I spent the following few days in agony with aching, vibrating tarsals, and iced and elevated ankles.  Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome is more prominent in people who are flat-footed and since I’ve got feet like Fred Flintstone, I guess I’m more at risk.

(*Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome is similar to Carpal Tunnel Syndrome…but with the bonus of having your full body weight constantly on your injury.)

I’m so disappointed because I’ve been anticipating this event for months and now that it’s finally here, I feel almost like it’s a chore because I know how much pain I’ll be in afterward.  I’ve been trying to take it easy easier but it’s not so simple when I’m participating in classes, teaching classes, and preparing for a race.  I swear to God if it’s not one thing, it’s another.

But I’m as prepared as I can be.  The race is 13 hours away!  I don’t have much choice other than to be prepared.  And I am still excited.  I’ll do my best and I’ll take my time and rest, if required.  I have tape, wraps, and anti-inflammatories packed.  And I’ve got my race buddy to drag me along if I deem myself unable to run any further.  *wink*

So…..wish me luck. This is my first Zombie Run and I won’t turn down any offers to have Rick Grimes and Daryl Dixon by my side.

TWD

~Fit Bitch

2 responses to “Race Day!

  1. Pingback: Goal Crushing | Sandy the Social Butterfly

  2. Pingback: Goal Crushing | Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

