Have You Tried Butter Coffee (aka Bulletproof Coffee)?

butter_coffee_promo
Have you all heard of this Bulletproof Coffee craze? Let me just say that I’m not a big coffee drinker to start (Fact: I worked in a coffee house for SIX YEARS and never had a coffee) and the idea of putting butter – yes, BUTTER – into my cuppa joe really kinda grosses me out.

So what is this all about? Well, this butter coffee, branded as Bulletproof Coffee, has been gaining popularity since people started wielding the benefits of adding a spoonful or two of grass-fed butter such as weight loss* (*people claim to feel full after one full cup of the coffee -at 100-200 calories), higher energy, boosts in brain power.

Watch Jimmy Fallon explain to Maya Rudolph the idea and benefits of Bulletproof Coffee:

Other benefits of Butter Coffee at breakfast:
•It replaces your usual breakfast, which allows for an extended fast period***
•The healthy fat replaces carbs/protein.
•Consuming straight fat also allows you to obtain calories while effectively maintaining the fast through ketosis.
•Intermittent fasting has incredible health benefits.
•It makes fasting much easier and you don’t feel like you are starving.
•Your blood sugar and insulin will remain stable.
•You feel full until lunch and don’t feel compelled to snack.
•It’s also very quick and easy to prepare in the morning.
***Butter Coffee is not magical for weight loss. You shouldn’t substitute this drink for meals just so you can lower your daily caloric intake. While healthy fats do make you more satiated, you need to eat them with other foods, especially those with fat soluble vitamins A, D, E, K & K2 so your body can properly absorb them.

There are also variations of Butter Coffee which include adding coconut oil or butter to your morning brew instead of the butter.

You can check out the Bulletproof website for more info and the recipe* here: http://bulletproof-coffee.net/
*There is a specific way of making butter coffee – which includes a blender. So, dumping a glob of butter into your coffee isn’t going to cut it.

So, even though I said it grosses me out a little, the idea of butter coffee, I AM tempted to try it. And the more and more I read about it the more and more tempted I become.

Have any of you tried it? Comment below and let me know what you thought of – the taste, the texture, did you feel any more energetic?

~Fit Bitch

10 responses to “Have You Tried Butter Coffee (aka Bulletproof Coffee)?

  1. This is really interesting. I have never heard of this but now I will be prepared for the next conversation with my paleo friends : ) thanks!

  2. this sounds dubious at best!
    I can’t even stand milk in my coffee and I don’t like butter…so I can’t see this working for me…

    also…I am not sure ketosis is a state people should be aiming for!

  3. I think I get this…I’m going to try it. I don’t like eating breakfast, I usually just have coffee until lunch… Hmmm… Butter coffee… I’m going to try it.

  4. And remember Hot Toddys? Those are made with butter and they are pretty good! I’m kind of excited about butter coffee!

    • Cristina – please let me know if you try it and what you think. I’m dying to know (but not sure if I’m brave enough to go at it myself). 😉
      And I had no idea Hot Toddies had butter in them. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Marge Burkell – Make Bulletproof Coffee in a FREE Ninja Blender!

Leave a Reply

