Cauliflower Popcorn

It’s Friday (Thank Goodness!!)! And with Friday comes Friday night (followed by Saturday and Sunday nights) which means, for many, that it might be movie night. I know that sometimes, after a long and exhausting week, I like to curl up on the couch with my guy or my cat and just veg out with a movie. And, like many of you, sometimes I like to snack.

My guy likes popcorn – microwave popcorn. Me, honestly, if I never had microwave popcorn again in my lifetime I would be okay with it. In fact, if I never have popcorn again I’ll be okay with it. (I say that but I know if I hit the movie theater and smell really popped corn I’d be all “YUM!”)

First of all, microwavable popcorn is full of chemicals and additives and can be just plain yuck. Thankfully, I inherited (and when I say “inherited” I actually mean borrowed and never gave back) my mom’s old fresh popper so if I ever get the hankering for real popcorn I can pop the real stuff.

In the meantime, I’ve completely fallen in love with Cauliflower Popcorn. Have you tried it? It is so good. And the best part is that it’s nutritious and low in calories. It’s chalk-full of fibre and vitamins and contains no cholesterol.

First thing once you choose your cauliflower is ensure you wash it well. You can wash it as a full head or after it’s chopped up, then pat it dry.

via Google

via Google

Once you’ve washed and dried the cauliflower chop it up into bite-sized pieces and toss it in a little olive oil. It’s your choice whether you want to add anything else to your ‘popcorn’ – you can add sea salt, fresh herbs, a little parm, or even regular ol’ popcorn seasoning. Then spread it over a baking sheet.

via Yahoo

via Yahoo

Put the pan of cauliflower into a preheated oven at 425. Depending on how soft or crunchy you like your cauliflower popcorn you roast in the oven anywhere from 15-45 minutes (tossing it every 5-8 minutes), and voila: A healthy and delicious (and inexpensive) snack.

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

~Fit Bitch

10 responses to “Cauliflower Popcorn

  1. Very interesting idea! 🙂

  2. love this idea! I think im gonna make these now…

  3. Yum! I love cauliflower – it’s one of my fave veggies!

  4. theveganmuffinwoman

    What a creative idea!

Leave a Reply

