Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

I finished my CanFitPro certification course this past weekend.  Whoo hoo!  It was an overwhelming couple of weeks with tons and tons of information to take in (bioenergetics, biomechanics, etc.) and I have tons and tons of studying and prepping to do before I complete my exams.  Thankfully I have about 5 weeks before the written exam and then from there I have to schedule the practical.  Fortunately, I had a friend who’s taken the course and is already training (she’s the person responsible for me going for this!) so I’m able to shadow with her and ask questions.  And my gym and class buddy has “volunteered” to be my guinea pig so I’m able to work with her the way I would work with a true life client.  And it’s helping.

This past weekend, during the course, we spent a good amount of time in the gym and getting to know new equipment.   I’ve always been intimidated by some of the equipment in my gym but since I got back from the course I’ve been broadening my horizons and it’s empowering.

One of the big attractions in the course gym, that all the guys and gals were going gaga for, was the Smith Machine.  And guess what?  We have one of those at my gym!  I was so excited to brag about this piece of equipment and get back to my gym to really work with it (I’d tried it once or twice before; it’s still very new to my gym) and I love it.  I’ve been increasing my weights over the last year but this machine I think will really help me build my upper body strength – especially since I’m still dealing with this stupid back injury, this machine should be great in keeping me from preventing more injury (let’s all knock on wood just in case).

If you’re not familiar with the Smith Machine you can check out the Wikipedia page here and the photo below.

Smith Machine

Smith Machine

The really great thing about the Smith Machine is that it has these little jagged teeth where you can sit or rest the weights on AND where you can lock the safety on each side so if you’re doing lifts and lose your balance the weights will only fall to the safety.  Or, if you drop the bar completely, it falls right into the next set of teeth.  I am really looking forward to getting more use out of this piece of equipment.

I’ve also started using other pieces more and plan to continue with them.  If you are like me and don’t feel great outside out of your comfort zone, try taking tiny steps and take full advantage of new equipment (or equipment new to you).  It’ll be worth it in the end.

Cheers.

 

One response to “Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

  1. Pingback: Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

