Question of the Week

Lately I’ve been receiving a lot of questions in my inbox and from friends so I’m going to attempt to do a Question of the Week from here on out.  I’m not going to guarantee that I’ll succeed in posting every week but I will certainly make the attempt.

So here it is…the first Question of the Week:

“If I Stop Working Out Will My Muscle Turn to Fat?”

Muscle and fat are two totally different types of tissue, so even if you slack off, that hard-earned muscle won’t turn into fat.  With lack of use, muscle cells atrophy.  If they shrink to a certain size, they undergo apoptosis.

If you stop working out you lose strength and muscle mass.  Exercise uses calories and if you stop working out and don’t decrease your food intake then you (may) get fat.

Muscle occupies less space than fat :)

Muscle occupies less space than fat 🙂

There ya go.  Hope that settles that.  Keep the questions coming and I’ll do my best to continue a weekly Q&A.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

