Closing In and Resolutions

Part 1

The end of 2013 is upon us and I have to say that I am proud of my year in fitness.  Although, I’m not completely overwhelmed with my weight at the moment but hopefully, now that I’m off the medication I’ve been on for a few years, the weight issues will cease.  Regardless, I’m going to continue with my fitness and see where it takes me in 2014.

I am happy to report that I have either made it to the gym or completed a workout every day on my Christmas vacation – with the exception of Christmas day (unless trudging thru the snow counts.  Does that count?  Because it’s been snowing here every day for about 2 weeks straight!) and I haven’t indulged horribly in holiday goodies – although I have definitely had more sweets the last week than I normally would have.  But today I’m drinking lots of water and indulging in grapes and other fresh fruit.

And tonight I am attending a special 1.5 hour end of year Zumba celebration class.  My plan is to hit the gym for a bit before hand (as usual) – or at least get some yoga in (or both!) and then hit the class.  I’m actually really exited about this class – just because we haven’t had a class in about a week and a half and I really enjoy the workout I get from Zumba.

I’m also excited to say that my dad was kind enough to gift me a new pair of boxing gloves for my boot camp class (a gift I really wanted but hadn’t mentioned to anyone). I’ve been using spare gloves at the facility but let me just say this:  THAT is disgusting!  Those gloves are full of {I don’t even know how many other) people’s sweat and they stink beyond belief and for some reason my face or head or neck always itches during that class (probably from sweat) and I do my best to not touch my face after having those gloves on and I’m kind of a germaphobe and a compulsive hand washer….so my own gloves are definitely appreciated.

Thanks Dad!

Thanks Dad!

Part 2

Y’know, I really hate the phrase “New Years Resolution(s)” because every year people make their Resolutions for the new year and NEVER stick with them.  It’s like they set themselves up for failure.  And so often so many state that their Resolution is to diet or to lose weight or to get to the gym – which is all great but WHY wait for the new year??  There is no better time to start living a healthier life right now.  Instead of gorging yourself on leftover pie or cookies or having another turkey sandwich – just because it’s there – why not have a big glass of water and an orange?  Or have half that sandwich and a side salad.  Your body and mind will thank you.  And honestly, all that leftover food can be frozen.  Save it for another time or for guests or take the leftover sweets into your workplace, etc.  You don’t need to eat the food just because it’s there.  And make today the day when you’re going to take the extra stroll around the block or park at the bottom of the parking lot or the day you’re going to get to the gym or a new class.  Don’t wait for January 1st or 2nd….do it today.

And be sure to set realistic goals for yourself.  I look forward to getting into more classes in 2014 and broaden my horizons even more but I have to be realistic about how many days are in the week.  I can certainly add one or two (or maybe even three) more classes into my schedule but I think 8 classes is enough.  Eight classes will tap me out because on top of my career, classes, gym time, I still need time for my family and friends and cat and ME.  I’ve been relaxing over the holidays and sort of loving in but getting anxious to get back to the regular routine.  I like a little chaos.

I look forward to 2014 and hopefully hearing about your goals for a healthy you (aka please post below in the comments).

~Fit Bitch

 

Leave a Reply

