Skinny Frappuccino

I have a small confession to make……I love a good Frappuccino.  In fact, I love popping into Starbucks on occasion and treating myself to one of their skinny java mint frappes (I also love the Pumpkin Spice!).  They are soooo mouth-wateringly good.

Starbucks

But, there isn’t a Starbucks in my community.  In fact, the nearest Starbucks is in the next City, more than an hour away.  Therefore, I don’t have these treats very often….not even close to often.  So, left to my own devices, I decided to make my own skinny version of these decadent drinks.

To cut as many calories as I can I use the following (but you can certainly alter your recipes as you like):

1 – Candy Cane Coffee – I use the President’s Choice brand (which is available at least in the Maritimes) and it smells so wonderful when brewing.   Brew your coffee of choice and let completely cool.  Of course, if you are unable to get your hands on this divine product, regular coffee is fine.*

Whoever came up with this idea is brilliant!

Whoever came up with this idea is brilliant!

2 – Almond Milk (chocolate almond milk is great for this).   (You can use whatever milk you like.)    3 – *Peppermint extract OR mint chocolate (or carob chips).  If you’re using regular brewed coffee (not candy cane or mint flavored) then definitely add a drop of peppermint.  Although I use the candy cane flavored coffee, I sometimes throw in a teensy tiny bit of peppermint extract for an added kick,  You can also omit this and add mint chocolate chips (or add both). 4 – 1/2 cup crushed ice   Once the coffee is cooled I throw everything in a blender and blend until smooth – no ice chunks.  Then I pour it all into a nice cup and go on my merry way.  I usually brew enough coffee to make a couple of cups of the frappe.  Once it’s blended I put the remaining frappe into (reusable) plastic cups and put them in the freezer until they’re at least slushy, then I keep them in the fridge for the next day.Frap2

You certainly have the option of adding whip and/or chocolate syrup to your Frappuccino.  I don’t want the extra calories (uh, I save those for when I hit Starbucks because once I’m out of my postal code area the calories don’t count…..right?) so I omit them but the drink looks decadent with all the goodies.Frappe

This is so good and it’s a little healthier than the original version of the treat.  And it’s cheaper.  I am all about saving a buck.  And when I drink it (this time of year) I start to feel all Christmassy.  (I know Halloween is tomorrow so please don’t hate on me for saying that.)

Try this and enjoy.

~Fit Bitch

2 responses to “Skinny Frappuccino

  1. Leann

    Thank you for sharing this. I can’t wait to try this. I do have a Starbucks about 5 minutes away… Haha But your frappucino sounds delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

