A Little Break

Hello!  I’m sorry I’ve been absent the last little while.  I’ve been dealing with a bit of a medical emergency of sorts the last 2+ weeks and Fit Bitch Blogging hasn’t been in the stars for me.  But here I am.  No fear.   This post is more or less a little update and reminder that I have not forgotten about you.

I’m sad to say that in the last two weeks I’ve missed 4 fitness classes because of this medical issue but in all honesty, there was no way I could have made it.  This past Monday I was in the hospital so I literally was not able to make it to class.  And although I am feeling better today, the possibility that there is a long road ahead of me scares me a bit.

Last night I was able to make it to Zumba and Yoga and I felt so good.  So good, in fact, that I felt like the classes were too short.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get to the gym before hand as I was celebrating my nephew’s 6th birthday – which included cake!  🙂  And I’m not even sorry.

I’m looking forward to a good run after work today and maybe some yoga.  Here in Canada it’s Thanksgiving this weekend so I’ve definitely got to work out really hard.

There’s a little café a few Towns away that makes these delicious powerballs.  They are so good and healthy.  They have oats, cranberries, chocolate bits, honey, flax, peanut butter.  So, a few weeks ago I came up with as close a recipe as I could without their secret recipe.  My balls are yummy (insert dirty joke here).  They aren’t exactly like the ones I’m paying big money for but they’re pretty close.

My balls are never this round

My balls are never this round

I’ve been playing with my recipe a bit.  The other night I omitted some of the honey and added in a little coconut oil.  I don’t know how the café gets them so round and firm…mine stick to my hands so bad that I have to use a spoon to get all the batter off.  But, I roll them as best as I can and then toss them into the freezer.

Here’s a recipe that I found online…play with as you like:

PowerBalls

1.5 cups oatmeal

.5 cup peanut butter or other nut  butter

2/3 cup honey

2 cup coconut flakes

1/2 cup flaxseed

.25 cup mini chocolate chips

2 teaspoons vanilla

Mix all ingredients* together. Roll into balls.  Freeze.

*I’ve also added protein powder into a batch for after-the-gym treats.

ENJOY

~Fit Bitch

2 responses to “A Little Break

  1. Kate

    Hi!

    These look awesome – and can be made gluten free, which I need :-). Do you eat them frozen? Or is that just to solidify them?

    Thank you!!

    • I like keeping them in the freezer and taking one or two out at a time….I like the crisp of them being frozen. But I’ve also kept them in a small cookie jar on the counter and they’r delicious either way.

Leave a Reply

