I Want to Run like Phoebe

Remember that episode of Friends where Rachel went running with Phoebe and then was completely mortified because Phoebe ran like a Muppet off its Ritalin?

I love that episode.  I especially love that Phoebe is completely right.  I feel so exhilarated when I run that I often just want to take off like a bat out of Hell and bust my moves all over the place.

Last night I was at the gym and went for a 25 minute run to start.  It felt great.  It was nearly a week since my last run and I was determined to get it done.  Twenty-five minutes is all I could handle as the gym was 26 degrees (c) (which is about 78 degrees (F) – which means it was grossly hot and humid and a girl can only take so much.

I was at the gym for about 80 minutes in total and got in cardio and tons of strength – abs, legs, arms, back.   I started the 30 Day Abs Challenge and the 30 Day Squat Challenge again this month so I made sure to incorporate those exercises into the routine as well.  All in all it was a great night for exercise (which was only cut short by a visit from my dad) and I’m excited to get back there again tonight for a pre-workout before my Zumba class.

Since it’s the start of the month and Monday was a holiday, Zumba is my only class this week.  However, Barre Strength begins Monday night, followed by Yoga and Thursday night will be back to the regular routine of Zumba and Yoga.  And I’m looking into taking some kickboxing classes with my sister-in-law (who’s been after me to come to a class with her for years now).  My brother was a boxer when we were teenagers and I used to box and kick box with his boxing bag and gloves back then, but a serious kickboxing class is something I’ve yet to attempt.  Hopefully I can get to one class for the experience and then make the judgement as to whether I want to fork over the money and commit to another class.  I’m not opposed to joining more classes, I just want to be sure that it’s a class I really enjoy.  Right now, I’d like to get into another cardio class (so kickboxing might be for me) and more into yoga.

Happy September!

~Fit Bitch

 

Leave a Reply

