Meatless Wonders – BBQ Eggplant 3 Ways

This season I have become a little obsessed with my barbeque. It’s the first time I’ve owned a barbeque in a few years (I tossed my old because hornets kept building their nests in it) so I’ve been super excited to BBQ often.

Recently I tried BBQing eggplant. I hadn’t done this before but once I tasted the cooked eggplant I said “why haven’t I been eating this?” It was so good. I “marinated” the slices of eggplant with a little olive oil (both sides), pepper and herbs and spices and let it sit for about a half hour; then I threw it on the grill. I turned each slice so that both sides would be equally grilled and ohemgee. So good. It had this beautiful buttery texture that literally melted on my tongue. So delish.

grilled eggplant

grilled eggplant

And so I am on the hunt for other recipes for this meatless wonder – so I figured why not a BBQed eggplant burger using the grilled eggplant in place of a meat burger.

eggplant burger, anyone?

eggplant burger, anyone?

Then I saw these stackable eggplant sliders and I am eager to try them. No meat, no bread. Just eggplant and fixin’s.

Eggplant stackable sliders

Eggplant stackable sliders

Healthy and delicious. I’m always happy to step out of the box and try new things. So stay tuned for other meatless wonders.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

