How to Eat Healthy on a Budget

healthy-eating-on-a-budget
I saw this article today and thought I’d repost to give some tips on
How to Eat Healthy on a Budget.

Some other ideas:

1. Check the flyers. There are three major grocery stores in my town. Every week I check the flyers of each to see what sales are on. I’m a big fan of BOGO and sometimes stock up on items that are on sale, BOGO or reduced. A few weeks ago one of the stores had full pints of blueberries on 3 for $5. I got 9 pints. Also, I often visit the grocery store(s) several times a week. Sometimes I will find items (and on sale) that were not originally on my list.

2. Buy seasonal produce in large quantities and freeze what you cannot use immediately. You can make shakes and smoothies all winter from a couple of flats of frozen organic strawberries or raspberries. The flavour is better, too!

3. Shop the farmer’s markets for food in season. The best prices and the freshest organic produce come from the farmer’s market.

4. Join a food co-op. Members often receive a discount or monthly coupon for five to 10 per cent discounts.

5. Buy a share in a CSA (community supported agriculture). Shares are typically about $400 (you can pay in installments) for a weekly box of produce during the growing season. The cost typically works out to about $30 or less per week. My sister-in-law does this and they always have farm-fresh meat and eggs.

6. Use coupons. The best way to obtain coupons for natural or organic foods is to visit the website of the manufacturer, or use an Internet search engine and type in the words “grocery store coupons” and “organic” for printable coupons.

7. Buy from the bulk bins. Organic flour, sugar, cereals, pasta, spices and many snack foods are less expensive (and easier on the environment) if you purchase them from the bulk food section. Some stores even have peanut butter, maple syrup, cooking oil and even cleaning products available in bulk. Bring your reusable bags or containers and reduce your waste at the same time.

8. Grow your own healthy foods. I LOVE gardens.

9. Have breakfast for dinner. Sometimes I will make eggs for supper. They’re super cheap and you can make tons of different dishes with them (omelets, wraps, scrambles, etc.) and they’re so friggin’ good that I often crave them. But, aside from my addiction with eggs, there are several items you can have as a cheap dinner – cereal, oatmeal, toasted sandwiches. You don’t always have to have a 3 course meal for dinner. Also, have a shake or smoothie as one meal replacement occasionally.

10. Practise cooking creatively. When you have leftovers from dinner, try to use them in another meal — add them to a pasta dish, veggie burrito or omelet, or fold them into a soup or sauce. Don’t waste food.

11. Soup is always a great and inexpensive meal.

There, just a few ideas but it might help you save some money.

~Fit Bitch

6 responses to “How to Eat Healthy on a Budget

  1. great article. Super, important info; especially in today’s economy!

    • Thanks David. The world/economy/society is so different than when I was growing up (80’s/90’s). I would be forced to do grocery night with my mom and she would get the cart of groceries for our family of 4 and that would normally be it (we also had a garden). We ate pretty healthy back then. But things have changed quite a bit in even that short amount of time. There are so many more processed and shitty foods available now-a-days that I believe it is even more important to take extra care in selecting foods that are healthy, yet won’t cause us to file bankruptcy.

  2. Amy

    I have #8 I’m trying my own this year 🙂

  3. Health Care Spectator

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

