My First YogaFit Class

yogafit

Last night was my first YogaFit class. As I mentioned in a post yesterday, last night was my first trip back to the gym in two weeks since I’d come down with bronchitis. Although I’d worked out at home here and there, for the last two weeks I’ve pretty much taken it easy as I have a history of lung problems and really didn’t want this getting any worse. (Of course, I hacked all night long but it was worth it.)

I went to the gym first and did strength exercises and weights and also some abs exercises. I’d done a really good abs workout the day before and holy moly could I ever feel it last night. I hadn’t noticed it much during the day but once I started lifting those weights I could really feel the burn from the prior day.

After about 30 minutes of strength I went to my Zumba class for an hour as usual and then it was followed by our first night of YogaFit. I was super excited. The class is limited and closed so there were only 13 of us there, including a BFF Angela. I’ve been trying to get her to do some yoga with me for months now since she injured her hamstring back in February. She did one yoga workout with me and then left me high and dry. But I made sure she signed up for this class.

Although I was hot and tired from class (and the gym…and it being a billion degrees), I’m glad I had a workout beforehand…for two reasons: Number 1) My body was already nice and warm and I felt that I was able to do more in the YogaFit class. I had more flexibility and, to be honest, I sorta felt like a superstar. It was great. Number 2) My body was still revved up from my previous workouts. So, even tho the YogaFit class was semi-relaxing, my body was still burning from the higher intensity workout.

The class itself was really good. It wasn’t exactly what I’d imagined; I expected it to be a little more intense than it was, but then again, it was the first class. It was soothing and relaxing but I could still feel the workout. And I loved that there were participants from many fitness levels. No one is there to judge. We’re all there to learn and to work on our fitness and our bodies. It was a great experience, a great first class. I’m definitely looking forward to doing this for the rest of the summer.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

