Post WorkOut Fuel

I was on a mini vacation earlier in the week so Monday and Tuesday the only exercise I’d gotten in were a few walks. Although I enjoy walking, the intensity is lower than what I’m used to…plus, since I’m still recovering from a two week bout of bronchitis and have been taking a little time off to let my lungs rest and doing low to moderate exercises here and there, I hadn’t planned on working out too much while away so the only footwear I’d taken with me were my flip flops and that’s what I walked in.

When I finally got back home yesterday I really wanted to amp up the intensity – especially since I’m back to the gym tonight, followed by a high intensity Zumba class, followed by (my very first) YogaFit class. I settled on Insanity Plyometric Cardio and finished with a separate ab workout. By the time I finished all my exercising I was soaked with sweat, panting and coughing (from the lingering bronchitis). But I felt so good. 🙂

Now, since I’d been away I, for some reason, didn’t eat as great as I could have. I didn’t eat horribly but I had a few treats that I normally wouldn’t indulge in if I were home (including, since July 1st was Canada Day , chowing down on some really delicious Poutine). So, after my workout I really wanted a good healthy dinner. I made a recovery protein shake with tons of spinach, flax seed, berries, half a banana, a scoop of natural peanut butter and almond milk. It was lip-smacking good.

For dinner I had a lovely piece of lemon sole (it was a small piece – about 3/4 as big as my Blackberry) and a frittata. I’ve never made a frittata before but I was looking for something that would have protein and veggies and a little carbs. So I made one using a crap-ton of veggies – two big bunches of spinach, red pepper, onion, garlic, tomato, mushrooms – 2 eggs, and a handful of chopped (hash brown type) potato. I mixed it all together and baked it in the oven.
IMG01382-20130703-1843

Nom Nom Nom

Nom Nom Nom

It turned out really good. I had a portion of it with my fish for dinner and saved the remaining for lunch today. I need lots of fuel today, as I mentioned above I’m finally getting back into things tonight and won’t be getting home from the gym until about 10pm. I am very much looking forward to my recovery shake this evening. It really was drool-worthy yesterday.

Does anyone have any favorite pre or post-workout foods?

~FitBitch

2 responses to “Post WorkOut Fuel

  1. My husband always eats tons of Oats right after his workout while de carbing through the day. Seemed to work for him, I just need to replicate his success!

Leave a Reply

