I’ve Got the Music in Me

Whenever my cell phone rings I don’t want to answer it.  The reason?  Because my ring tune is “You Can’t Touch This” by MC Hammer.  Old school, I know, but whenever I hear it I can’t help but dance a little (sometimes a lot).  That’s why I urge you to listen to music when you’re working out.

Music will push you.  There’s a growing body of evidence that music can improve your exercise routine and the benefits you get from it. Costas Karageorghis, PhD, of Brunel University School of Sport and Education in London, has shown that music actually “moves” you:  Your body hears the music and it just can’t sit still. Music is also distracting, he says, so it can increase your endurance because listening to music makes it easier to ignore any discomfort from your workout.  Gray often recommends that people make a playlist for their exercise routine, and the faster the beat the better, she says. “You’ll work out at a more intense pace if you’re listening to something like Billy Idol’s ‘Dancing With Myself’ than Johann Pachelbel’s ‘Canon in D Major.'”

Whenever I’m out for a run or on the treadmill, or on the eliptical, stationery bike, lifting weights, etc., I find that I’m more motivated to keep going when I’m listening to upbeat songs.  I say to myself “the song’s not over yet, you can keep going.”  And it works.

Songs that I love to listen to while I’m working out:

Loser Like Me – Glee (I know, I know…but the song is catchy)

Pourin’ Rain – Calobo

Faith – George Michael

Sweet Home Alabama – Lynard Skynard

Come Back Song – Darius Rucker

Just about anything by Fun

Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepson

Footloose – Kenny Loggins

Walking on Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves

Rock DJ – Robbie Williams

Take On Me – A-Ha

Just about anything by Pink

Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen

Don’t Stop Believing – Journey

Forget You – Cee-Lo

Hips Don’t Lie – Shakira

Just about anything by Twisted Sister

You get the idea.  Choose fun, upbeat, motivational music to keep you running, lifting, sweating, moving!   And don’t forget to have fun! (The other day I sent this text to a friend: “OMG I’m at the gym by myself and totally just busted out the Robot on the treadmill.” – No, I have no shame.)

workout_music

~Fit Bitch

 

Leave a Reply

