My Grocery Cart

This weekend I had to pick up some groceries (and to my benefit it is BOGO week at my favorite grocery store).  I love getting groceries.  And because I love fresh produce, I usually hit the store a few times a week.Cart

But this weekend I stocked up.  I picked up so much more because of the sale.  Here’s a bit of what I got.

Strawberries

Honeydew

Watermelon

Cucumber

Sugar Snap Peas

Spaghetti Squash

Fish

Almond Milk

Tomatoes

Whole Grain with Flax Wraps

Eggs

Cabbage

Onion

Spinach

Tzatziki

Frozen fruit and veggies

Whoever said that eating healthy is boring is a fool. 

~Fit Bitch

 

2 responses to “My Grocery Cart

  1. Kris

    Hey! I came across your blog when I was searching for the 30 Day Ab Challenge. I thought I’d browse a bit, and I saw that you bought Tzatziki at the store. If that is a normal purchase for you give this a try:

    1 – 16 oz. container of 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
    1 – 8 oz. container of reduced fat Sour Cream
    1 – 8 oz. container of fat free Sour Cream
    2 Medium cloves of garlic
    1 English Cucumber

    Chop [or process] the cucumber until it is between relish and bean sized bits, then sprinkle with a bit of salt (just a tiny bit, to help the extract excess water). Set aside for 30-45 minutes.

    Mix the yogurt and sour cream. Press the cloves of garlic into the mixture (I like to chop the garlic into little cubes before pressing), and stir.

    Once enough time has passed the cucumber will be watery. Transfer it to a small colander or strainer, and press the water out of it by hand. Then add the cucumber to the dairy mixture, stir, and voila…homemade Tzatziki. It gets better each day in the fridge, and will stay good for about 5 or 6 days.

    Try it as a topping for BBQ (burgers, steak, chicken, veggie burgers, kebabs), as a salad dressing, etc., or just eat it with a spoon!

    I got the recipe from a 1st gen Greek family in Germany. The only thing I had to change was substituting the sour cream for quark (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quark_(dairy_product)), which isn’t available here.

Leave a Reply

