Avoidance

woman-neck-pain

Mondays and Thursday nights are usually my 3 hour gym sessions in the week.  Although I work out at least 6 days a week, Mondays and Thursdays I head straight to the gym after work.  I spend two hours in the actual gym and then do an hour-long intense Zumba class.  While in the gym I rotate between sets of cardio, weights and abs (and now, of course, incorporating squats from the 30 Day Squat Challenge).  Mondays and Thursdays I usually feel pretty accomplished.

But the last few days I’d been flip-flopping on whether to go last night (Thursday).  I have a pulled or strained muscle in my neck and it’s been giving me grief since the weekend so I thought maybe I should take some time to rest and recover…at the very least not spend 3 hours at the gym just irritating it.  So, after much debate with myself I ended up heading home last evening and working out there.  I was only going to do my squats and some yoga but I figured I could still incorporate some cardio into my session so I popped in the Pure Cardio DVD from Shaun T’s Insanity collection, avoiding 2 or 3 of the exercises to prevent further injury or irritation to my neck.  I also did 155 squats and finished my regime with a yoga video that worked my body but relaxed me as well.  When I had finished my workout I was sweating nicely.  And I felt good.

It would have been so easy for me to take advantage of a little bit of a sore neck and just plop down on my couch for the evening but I never want to get to the point where I’m making excuses not to exercise.   (Again, I don’t condone exercising with severe injury or illness and I’m not an expert.)  And to be honest, my neck feels a lot better today.

Happy Friday.

~Fit Bitch

Leave a Reply

